Student Achievements

August 9, 2011 | Student Achievements

EECE 375/474 Project Fair Winners

Thank you to everyone who made it out on Friday August 6th for the EECE 375/474 Project Fair. The day was a success with great projects and presentations given by all groups. A special thank you to the judges, Purang Abolmaesumi, Parham Yaghoobi and Jamil Karim, who had the difficult task of selecting winners. After careful deliberation the following winners were announced: First Place: Group 5 - Medical Dispenser  Edgar Cave Farhad Nazem Usama Khan

August 3, 2011 | Faculty Achievements, Student Achievements

ECE Team Receives Best Paper Award at Premier Conference in Usable Security

Congratulations to ECE doctoral candidate Pooya Jaferian, first coauthor of "Heuristics for Evaluating IT Security Management Tools," and his co-authors at LERSSE and CA Technologies. This paper was selected as the Best Paper at the Symposium on Usable Privacy and Security (SOUPS), the premier research venue in usable security. 

July 4, 2011 | Student Achievements

Graduate Students Awarded Scholarships

Congratulations to Electrical and Computer Engineering students Mohamed Sultan Mohamed Ali and Jonas Flueckiger who are among the first recipients of the ICICS Graduate Scholarship. The $5000 scholarship recognizes ICICS-affiliated graduate students who are excelling in their studies and whose work aligns with the ICICS mandate to promote multidisciplinary research its members and students, and with industry. Congratulations to all the recipients.

June 7, 2011 | Student Achievements

UBC Engineering Students Awarded at AUTO21 Conference

Congratulations to UBC Engineering students who won two awards at the AUTO21 Scientific Conference held in Ottawa May 25 - 27, 2011. Two posters were submitted and competed against over 50 others being judged on six different themes.

May 26, 2011 | Student Achievements

Reflex Wireless

  Reflex Wireless, the winner of the NYC Big Idea competition earlier this year, is off to Toronto, Ontario this weekend to showcase their design at e-Health 2011. The conference will showcase healthcare services, equipment and products to general public and industry professionals.

May 13, 2011 | Student Achievements

ECE Student Wins Prestigious NSERC Vanier Scholarship

  PhD student, Toufiqul Islam, supervised by Professors Robert Schober and Vijay Bhargava, recently received the prestigious NSERC Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarship. The Scholarship aims to retain world-class doctoral students by supporting students that have demonstrated both leadership capabilities and a high standard of scholarly achievement. The Scholarship awards recipients with $50,000 for three years. In 2010, Toufiqul Islam, was also awarded the Killam Donald N. Byers Memorial Prize. Congratulations to Toufiqul for all of his recent achievements. 

May 13, 2011 | Student Achievements

Postdoctoral Fellow Receives NSERC Banting Postdoctoral Fellowship

Postdoctoral fellow Dr. Diomidis Michalopoulos, supervised by Professor Robert Schober, received the NSERC Banting Postdoctoral Fellowship. Recipients of Fellowship receive in $70,000/year for two years in support of research initiatives. The Banting Postdoctoral Fellowship aims to attract top postdoctoral talent, nationally and internationally, to develop leadership potential and position the recipients to become the top researchers of tomorrow. 

April 8, 2011 | Student Achievements

ECE Students Win NYC Next Idea Competition

Congratulations to Andy Tsai, Jinting Zhu, Carol Lee and Peter Guan! The group, sponsored by the Radio Science Lab, have just been announced the winners of the NYC Big Idea competition. They will receive a $15,000 prize in addition to 6 months of free office space in New York City in which to launch their business. The winning business venture, ReFlex, was one of two selected out of more then 150 submitted business ideas.

March 15, 2011 | Student Achievements

3MT Competition Winners

Thank you to everyone who came out to support the 3MT Competition on Monday afternoon. A special thanks to Professors Meeko Oishi, Sathish Gopalakrishnan and Shahriar Mirabbasi for taking time out of their schedules to judge the competition. The event was a big success and the judges had the difficult task of choosing between many outstanding presentations. The following winners were announced after much deliberation: Masters First Place - $300 - Adam Noel Second Place - $200 - Zoltan Foley-Fisher Third Place - $100 - Samantha Grist

Syndicate content

a place of mind, The University of British Columbia

Electrical and Computer Engineering
2332 Main Mall
Vancouver, BC Canada V6T 1Z4
Tel +1.604.822.2872
Fax +1.604.822.5949

Emergency Procedures | Accessibility | Contact UBC | © Copyright 2020 The University of British Columbia