Three ECE Professors to become IEEE Fellows in 2017

IEEE is the world’s largest technical professional organization dedicated to advancing technology for the benefit of humanity. IEEE members are engineers, scientists, and allied professionals whose technical interests are rooted in electrical and computer sciences, engineering, and related disciplines. The highest grade of membership, IEEE Fellow, is attained through nomination by peers and approval by the IEEE Board of Directors for distinction in the profession.

Three of ECE’s professors have been elevated to Fellow in the class of 2017. Each new Fellow is recognized for their unique contribution to the field:
Professor Juri Jatskevich, for contributions to modeling of electric machines and switching converters,
Professor Panos Nasiopoulos, for leadership in DVD authoring and digital multimedia technologies and,
Professor Zhen Jane Wang, for contributions to statistical signal processing for multimedia security and brain data analytics.

IEEE encourages students to join the organization. There are more than 114,000 student members participating in the 2,806 IEEE student branches at colleges and universities. UBC’s IEEE student branch organizes events and competitions for students throughout the year as well as the award-winning Annual International Field Trip.

Find out more about IEEE.